Discover Djibouti

A tiny piece of land of 23,000 km² with nearly a million inhabitants, torn apart by the tectonic movement of the plates, Djibouti is a concentrate of remarkable natural sites!

An authentic trip, off the beaten track

Winner 2018 of the prize awarded by the international organization "World Peace Without Borders", distinguished as "World Capital of Tourism and Culture of the Year 2018" by the European Council on Tourism and Trade (ECTT), awarded by the international tourist guide Lonely Planet which ranks it as the 4th destination to visit in 2018, the Republic of Djibouti is a country recognized by international bodies of peace and tourism.

More simply, the wonder, authenticity and adventure that you will find there, especially in its typical accommodations that are the campsites, make Djibouti a unique destination, to be lived once in a lifetime, in the footsteps of Arthur Rimbaud, Henri de Monfreid and Joseph Kessel, writers and adventurers fascinated by this region.

Exceptional landscapes

These include:

  • the young volcano named Ardoukoba by Haroun Tazieff, was born there in 1978. 
 
  • the green-blue of Lake Assal at 157 metres below sea level (salinity of 348 g/l), surrounded by the whiteness of the salt pack, itself surrounded by the black of the volcanic stones, offers a striking contrast of colours
 
  • the "piece of moon that fell to earth" Lake Abbé, with its chimneys, its sunset and sunrise, transports you to another planet (even if, contrary to rumours, no scene from the film "Planet of the Apes" was shot there).
 
  • the primary forest of the Day at nearly 1800 m of altitude: freshness and greenery are guaranteed. 
 
  • Mangroves, sandy or pebble beaches, islands (Moucha, Maskali) will delight lovers of nautical activities. 
 
  • the deserts (Grand Barra, Gaggadé), the wadis are to be discovered.
 

Djibouti will also interest lovers of prehistory, who will discover over nearly 3 km, the rock engravings of the site still fortunately little known and little frequented Abourma.

A great diversity of meetings and sites

Djibouti is endowed with a rich flora and fauna on land and sea, including the famous whale shark. Hiking, swimming with flippers, mask and snorkel, canoeing and kayaking will allow you to approach them.

Djibouti, located at the crossroads of the African, Asian and European continents, is a territory of cultural intermingling. This is also reflected in its gastronomy, a true "culinary melting pot": Yemeni baked fish (mukbaza), sambuussa, skudahkharis (lamb stew), chicken fadira...

The bustling city centre of Djibouti, where shops and restaurants abound, contrasts with the rural, green serenity and invigorating freshness of the campsites in the Goda Mountains.

The trips organized by Africorne Travel, beyond visiting the sites of the country, will allow you to meet its people, its culture, and experience unknown emotions and sensations, at least that is the goal we have set ourselves.

camp at Le Goubet
whale shark
Kayak landscape view
clownfish

Our articles on Djibouti

djibouti-volcan-geology

Djibouti or the geologists' paradise: 5 sites not to be missed

In 200 million years, Djibouti will undoubtedly be engulfed in a vast ocean. The continuous, albeit low-intensity, seismic tremors observed on its territory are caused by the very slow displacement (2 cm per year) of the African and Arabian plates, at the intersection of which the Republic of Djibouti is located.
But until then, we have time to enjoy the geological wonders of the country.

en_GBEN

Découvrir Djibouti

Minuscule bout de terre de 23 000 km² de près d’un million d’habitants, écartelé par le mouvement tectonique des plaques, Djibouti est un concentré de sites naturels remarquables !

Un voyage authentique, en dehors des sentiers battus

Lauréate 2018 du prix décerné par l’organisation internationale « Paix Mondiale Sans Frontières », distinguée comme « capitale mondiale du tourisme et de la culture de l’année 2018 » par l’European Council on Tourism and Trade (ECTT), primée par le guide touristique international Lonely Planet qui la classe 4ème destination à visiter en 2018, la république de Djibouti est un pays reconnu par les instances internationales de la paix et du tourisme.

Plus simplement, l’émerveillement, l’authenticité et l’aventure que vous y trouverez, notamment dans ses hébergements typiques que sont les campements, font de Djibouti une destination unique, à vivre une fois dans sa vie, sur les traces d’Arthur Rimbaud, Henri de Monfreid et Joseph Kessel, écrivains et aventuriers fascinés par cette région.

Des paysages exceptionnels

Parmi lesquels :

  • le jeune volcan baptisé Ardoukoba par Haroun Tazieff, y est né en 1978 
 
  • le vert-bleu du lac Assal à 157 mètres au-dessous du niveau de la mer (taux de salinité de 348 g/l), entouré par la blancheur de la banquise de sel, elle-même cernée par le noir des pierres volcaniques, offre un saisissant contraste de couleurs
 
  • le Lac Abbé « morceau de lune tombé sur terre », avec ses cheminées, son coucher et lever de soleil, vous transporte sur une autre planète (même si contrairement à ce que rapporte une rumeur, aucune scène du film la « Planète des Singes » n’y a été tournée)
 
  • la forêt primaire du Day à près de 1800 m d’altitude : fraîcheur et verdure garanties 
 
  • les mangroves, les plages de sables ou de galets, les îles (Moucha, Maskali) réjouiront les amateurs d’activités nautiques 
 
  • les déserts (Grand Barra, Gaggadé), les oueds sont à découvrir.
 

Djibouti intéressera également les amoureux de préhistoire, qui découvriront sur près de 3 kms, les gravures rupestres du site encore heureusement peu connu et peu fréquenté d’Abourma.

Une grande diversité de rencontres et de sites

Djibouti est doté d’une faune et d’une flore terrestres et maritimes riches, dont le fameux requin baleine. Randonnées pédestres, baignades avec palmes, masque et tuba, canoë-kayak, vous permettront de les approcher.

Djibouti, situé au carrefour des continents africain, asiatique et européen, est un territoire de brassage culturel. Cela se traduit aussi dans sa gastronomie, véritable « melting -pot culinaire » : poisson au four yéménite (mukbaza), sambuussa, skudahkharis (ragoût d’agneau), fadira au poulet…

L’animation du centre-ville de Djibouti où fourmillent commerces et restaurants contraste avec la sérénité rurale, verdoyante et la fraîcheur vivifiante des campements des monts Goda.

Les séjours organisés par Africorne Travel, au-delà de la visite des sites du pays, vous permettront de rencontrer ses habitants, sa culture, et d’éprouver des émotions et sensations inconnues, c’est du moins l’objectif que nous nous sommes fixé.

campement au Goubet
requin baleine
vue Kayak paysage
poisson clown

Nos articles sur Djibouti

djibouti-volcan-geologie

Djibouti ou le paradis des géologues : 5 sites incontournables

Dans 200 millions d’années, Djibouti sera sans doute englouti dans un vaste océan. En effet les secousses sismiques continuelles, bien que de faible intensité, qu’on observe sur son territoire, sont provoquées par le déplacement très lent (2cm par an) des plaques d’Afrique et d’Arabie, à l’intersection desquelles est située la république de Djibouti.
Mais d’ici là, nous avons le temps de profiter des merveilles géologiques du pays.

fr_FRFR