3 good reasons to travel to Ethiopia or Djibouti

Have you ever thought of taking a trip to the Horn of Africa? And more specifically to Djibouti or Ethiopia? I had the opportunity to live several years in Djibouti and to discover Ethiopia at the same time: today, my passion is to travel through these 2 countries, and to welcome you there!
voyager-ethiopie-djibouti

Ethiopia and Djibouti are not the travel destinations that one thinks of at first sight for his holidays!

People who have never been there, often see these 2 countries as unsafe places and characterized by the great poverty of their population.

However, travelling to Ethiopia or Djibouti does not put you at any greater risk than in most of the more popular tourist destinations, but it does have the advantage of taking you to places off the beaten track.

1. Security and geopolitical situation in Ethiopia and Djibouti

In fact, Djibouti has long been a "haven of peace" in a troubled region where only the border areas with Somalia and Eritrea are to be avoided, and relations with the latter country are calmed at the time of writing.

Ethiopia very occasionally experiences localized clashes between certain ethnic groups; naturally it is recommended not to be around when they occur, but foreigners are not targeted in any way.

Since the end of 2020, the opposition between the Ethiopian central power and the one of the Tigray region has degenerated into an armed conflict and forbids tourism in a part of northern Ethiopia. However, the other regions of this great country remain open to all.

More generally, tourists passing through these 2 countries are never in danger because of their nationality, the colour of their skin or their religion, and are very well received by the local populations.

Even if a middle class is developing there, most of the inhabitants of these 2 countries is in a situation of extreme poverty, which only makes it more difficult to remarkable the sense of hospitality and joie de vivre that is omnipresent.

So there is no reason to deprive yourself of a trip to Djibouti or a trip to Ethiopia, which will be an unforgettable experience for you.

2. An adventurous journey, far from our daily lives!

First of all, traveling in these two regions of the Horn of Africa remains an "adventure". In Western nations, daily life is organized and thought out a long time in advance, nothing is left to chance; here we live in the present and in Djibouti, the expression "inchallah" usually concludes conversations about what to do tomorrow or in the days that follow...

Here for this which is in the material domain, very often still the "best" is obviously the enemy of the "good" but the system "D" ends up solving all the problems.

3. A trip out of the country

In many places of Djibouti and Ethiopia where you pass or stay, Europeans are rare. Sometimes you will even be alone with the beautiful nature that surrounds you... Impression sometimes misleading, because the nomads of the apparently desert areas, are never very far.

Whether in Djibouti or Ethiopia, discovery and unexpectedness are daily occurrences. The way of life, the habits, the modes of transport, the way of eating...the clothes, everything is different from what we know.

Whether you choose to travel to Ethiopia, or to Djibouti, total change of scenery is the common point of both destinations, but the similarity ends there. Apart from the common geography of their border area and the cultural identity of the Afar ethnic group present in both countries, Djibouti and Ethiopia are 2 worlds apart.

Travelling in Djibouti: between sea and desert

Djibouti is a young tiny state of 23000 km2 with a million inhabitants divided between 2 ethnic groups (65 % Issas and 35 % Afars), of Muslim religion. Djibouti is independent since 1977, four languages are spoken there (Arabic, French, Somali and Afar). Its economy, devoid of agriculture, relies mainly on the activity of its port, which is the obligatory place of passage for imports from neighbouring Ethiopia.

Its position at at the entrance to the Red Sea, and at the crossroads of the African and Asian continents. and European, gives it a geostrategic importance that explains the presence of the permanent military presence on its soil of the Chinese, American and French armies, to name only the most important ones.

Travelling in Ethiopia: Cradle of Civilization

Ethiopia is a huge territory of nearly 1,100,000 km2, with a population of over 100 million people, composed of 9 major ethnic groups (Oromo, Amhara, Tigrayans, Somali, Sidama, Gurage, Afar, Harari and Falashas). The majority Christian community (44 %), peacefully cohabits with the Muslim community (34 %); animists also have an important presence (11 %).

More than 80 languages are spoken in Ethiopia; there is no longer an official language since 1995; Oromo and Amharic are spoken by the most large number of inhabitants.

Ethiopia's roots are thousands of years old and the kingdom of Aksum was one of the most powerful of its time.

Ethiopia is the only country on the African continent, along with Liberia, to have escaped colonization, except for the period of Italian occupation from 1936 to 1941.

Ethiopia's economy is largely dominated by agriculture, which employs most of the population. The country no longer has a seafront since Eritrea's independence: most of the products it imports go through the port of Djibouti.

The choice of the trip: Ethiopia or Djibouti?

You understood it, whether you decide to travel in Ethiopia or Djibouti, the welcome of the inhabitants will be friendly and warm!

If you have about 8 days, a trip to Djibouti will be ideal to enjoy a total change of scenery during an adventure trip in 4×4, to discover the landscapes and typical camps of the country! Here are some examples of tours that I propose, from 8 days, between discovery of beaches, seabed and hiking:
Discovery tour of the beaches and campsites over 8 days
Hiking trails and sites in Djibouti over 12 days

If you have more time, choose Ethiopia and according to your desires come and discover its lakes, its monasteries and churches, its mountainous massifs, its deserts.... the trips in Ethiopia are longer considering the size of the country, big as two times France :
Discover the Great Rift Lakes over 12 days
Monolithic churches and extraordinary landscapes of the north over 16 days

It is also possible to plan a trip to Djibouti and Ethiopia, during the same stay!

Of course, we are here to guide you in your choices according to your desires and your constraints in order to concoct a tailor-made stay! Do not hesitate to leave us your comments, to consult more information on the Horn of Africaor to us contact straight away!

4 Responses

  1. Just a little reminder: for Ethiopia you need a passport with AT LEAST 6 months validity. ..for the entry visa. ...

    1. Hello,

      You're absolutely right! This detail is well specified for any reservation with us, in the practical information, as well as the details of obtaining the Visa 🙂.

  2. Hello I would like to organize a trip to Djibouti for 2 adults and 1 child of 5 years old, do you think it would be possible? For at least 3 weeks.
    I'd like your help in organizing this if possible.
    Awaiting your return,
    Sincerely

  3. Hello
    Yes, it is quite possible to travel to Djibouti safely with a 5 year old child.
    I'll tell you more in a personal message.
    See you soon.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share this article :

Share on facebook
Share on email

Similar articles :

Join us on Facebook :

en_GBEN

3 bonnes raisons de voyager en Ethiopie ou à Djibouti

Avez-vous déjà pensé partir en voyage dans la corne de l'Afrique ? Et plus particulièrement à Djibouti ou en Ethiopie ? J'ai eu l'occasion de vivre plusieurs années à Djibouti et de découvrir l'Ethiopie par la même occasion : aujourd'hui, ma passion est de parcourir ces 2 pays, et de vous y accueillir !
voyager-ethiopie-djibouti

La république de Djibouti et l’Ethiopie ne sont pas forcément les destinations de voyages auxquelles on pense d’emblée pour ses vacances !

Les gens qui n’y sont jamais allés, voient souvent ces 2 pays comme des endroits peu sûrs et caractérisés par la grande pauvreté de leur population.

Pourtant, voyager en Éthiopie ou voyager à Djibouti ne vous fait pas courir plus de risques que dans la plupart des destinations plus fréquentées par les touristes, tout en présentant l’avantage de vous faire découvrir des contrées à l’écart des sentiers battus.

1. Sécurité et situation géopolitique en Ethiopie et à Djibouti

En réalité, Djibouti est depuis longtemps un « havre de paix » dans une région troublée où seules les zones frontalières avec la Somalie et l’Erythrée sont à éviter, en précisant que les relations avec ce dernier pays sont apaisées au moment où ces lignes sont écrites.

L’Ethiopie connaît très occasionnellement des heurts localisés, parfois violents, entre les ethnies les plus importantes; naturellement il est recommandé de ne pas être dans les parages lorsqu’ils se produisent, mais les étrangers n’en sont en aucune façon la cible.

Plus généralement, les touristes de passage dans ces 2 pays ne sont jamais en danger en raison de leur nationalité, de la couleur de leur peau ou de leur religion, et sont très bien accueillis par les populations locales.

Même si une classe moyenne s’y développe, la plus grande partie des habitants de ces 2 pays se trouve dans une situation de grande pauvreté, qui ne rend que plus remarquables le sens de l’hospitalité et la joie de vivre omniprésents.

Donc pas de raison de se priver d’un voyage à Djibouti ou d’un voyage en Ethiopie, qui seront pour vous une expérience inoubliable.

2. Un voyage aventure, loin de notre quotidien !

D’abord, voyager dans ces 2 contrées de la Corne de l’Afrique reste une « aventure ». Dans les nations occidentales le quotidien est organisé et pensé longtemps à l’avance, rien n’est laissé au hasard ; ici on vit au présent et à Djibouti, l’expression « inchallah » conclut habituellement les conversations sur ce qu’il est prévu de faire demain ou dans les jours qui suivent…

Ici pour ce qui est du domaine matériel, bien souvent encore le « mieux » est manifestement l’ennemi du « bien » mais le système « D » finit par venir à bout de tous les problèmes.

3. Un voyage dépaysant

Dans beaucoup d’endroits où vous passez ou séjournez, les européens sont rares. Parfois même vous serez seul en tête à tête avec la belle nature qui vous entoure… Impression parfois trompeuse, car les nomades des contrées apparemment désertiques, ne sont jamais très loin.

Que ce soit à Djibouti, ou en Ethiopie, la découverte et l’inattendu sont quotidiens. Les modes de vie, les habitudes, les modes de transport, la manière de manger…Parfois les tenues vestimentaires, tout est différent de ce que nous connaissons.

Que vous choisissiez de voyager en Ethiopie, ou de voyager à Djibouti, le dépaysement total est le point commun de ses deux destinations, mais la similitude s’arrête là. Hormis la géographie commune de leur zone frontalière et l’identité de culture de l’ethnie Afar présente dans les 2 pays, Djibouti et l’Ethiopie sont 2 mondes à part.

Voyager à Djibouti : entre mer et désert

Djibouti est un jeune état minuscule de 23000 km2 d’un million d’habitants répartis entre 2 ethnies (65 % Issas et 35 % Afars), de religion musulmane. Djibouti est indépendant depuis 1977, quatre langues y sont parlées (Arabe, français, somalie et afar). Son économie dépourvue d’agriculture, repose principalement sur l’activité de son port, lieu de passage obligé des importations du l’Ethiopie voisine.

Sa position à l’entrée de la Mer Rouge, et au croisement des continents africain, asiatique et européen, lui donne une importance géostratégique qui explique la présence militaire permanente sur son sol des armées chinoise, américaine et française, pour ne citer que les plus importantes.

Voyager en Ethiopie : berceau de la civilisation

L’Ethiopie est un immense territoire de près de 1.100.000 km2, de plus de 100 million d’habitants, composé de 9 groupes ethniques majeurs (Oromo, Amhara, Tigréens, Somali, Sidama, Gurage, Afar, Harari et Falashas). La communauté chrétienne majoritaire (44 %), cohabite pacifiquement avec la communauté musulmane (34 %) ; les animistes ont aussi une présence importante (11 %).

Plus de 80 langues sont parlées en Ethiopie ; il n’y a plus de langue officielle depuis 1995 ; l’Oromo et l’amharique sont parlés par le nombre le plus important d’habitants.

Les racines de l’Ethiopie sont millénaires et le royaume d’Aksoum fût l’un des plus puissants de son époque.

L’Ethiopie est le seul pays du continent africain à avoir échappé à la colonisation, excepté la période d’occupation italienne de 1936 à 1941.

L’économie de l’Ethiopie est largement dominée par l’agriculture qui emploie la majeure partie de la population. Ce pays n’a plus de façade maritime depuis l’indépendance de l’Erythrée : la majeure partie des produits qu’elle importe, passe par le port de Djibouti.

Si vous ne savez pas quel pays choisir entre l’Ethiopie et Djibouti

Vous l’aurez compris, que vous décidiez de voyager en Ethiopie, ou à Djibouti, l’accueil des habitants sera convivial et chaleureux !

Si vous disposez d’environ 8 jours, un voyage à Djibouti sera tout indiqué pour vous faire profiter d’un dépaysement total au cours d’un séjour aventure en 4×4, à la découverte des paysages et campements typiques du pays ! Voici quelques exemples de circuits que je propose, à partir de 8 jours, entre découverte des plages, des fonds marins et randonnée :
Parcours découverte des plages et campements sur 8 jours
Parcours randonnées et sites de Djibouti sur 12 jours

Si vous disposez de plus de temps, et selon vos envies de découvrir plutôt les régions des lacs, les monastères, les zones volcaniques, les voyages en Ethiopie sont plus longs vu la taille du pays, grand comme deux fois la France :
A la découverte des grands lacs sur 12 jours
Eglises monolithiques et paysages extraordinaires du nord sur 16 jours

Il est aussi possible de prévoir un voyage à Djibouti, et en Ethiopie, lors du même séjour !

Bien entendu, nous sommes là pour vous guider dans vos choix selon vos envies et vos contraintes afin de vous concocter votre séjour sur-mesure ! N’hésitez pas à nous laisser votre commentaire, à consulter plus d’informations sur la Corne de l’Afrique, ou à nous contacter directement !

4 réponses

  1. Juste un petit rappel : pour l’Éthiopie faut avoir un passeport avec AU MOINS 6 mois de validité. ..pour le visa d’entrée. …

    1. Bonjour,

      Vous avez tout à fait raison ! Ce détail est bien précisé pour toute réservation chez nous, dans les informations pratiques, ainsi que les détails d’obtention du Visa 🙂

  2. Bonjour je souhaiterais organiser un voyage a Djibouti pour 2 adultes et 1 enfant de 5 ans posez vous que cela soit possible? Pour au moins 3 semaines.
    J’aimerais votre aide pour pouvoir organiser tout cela si possible
    Dans l’attente de votre retour,
    Cordialement

  3. Bonjour
    Oui tout à fait possible de voyager à Djibouti en toute sécurité avec un enfant de 5 ans.
    Je vous en dis plus en message personnel.
    A bientôt

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

fr_FRFR